Some people think that the media (newspapers) have the right to publish details of people,s private life while others think it should be controlled. Discuss both views.

It is often believed that the media has the authority to publish private information about people. However, some people have a negative view of this, arguing it should be restricted. I partially agree with the latter, for it can violate privacy, making it harder for people to have a peaceful life regardless of the importance of media to expose detailed private information, to tell the truth. On the one hand, the media should have a right to reveal private information to promote the understanding of the public. In other words, the exact location and background of a person should be made accessible so people have a clearer sense of a situation to make better decisions. For instance, an article on the family background of a notorious Japanese politician called Saito, who is spoiled by his wealthy relatives, has made it easier for many people to understand his rude and self-centred acts that cause a number of troubles to others. Consequently, this allows people to understand the very root of problems to make a fair evaluation of the suitability of the person working as a mayor. On the other hand, media should be controlled when it exposes private information to the public because it draws excessive attention, preventing people from having an ordinary life. Indeed, it often causes serious troubles not only for a person but also for his or her relatives and even neighbours when details of personal life are published by the media. To illustrate this, parents were forced to stay at home when their son was arrested for drink and driving which killed three lives in Japan in 2018 due to the crowds of reporters and strangers with curiosity visiting their place. In spite of them being innocent themselves, they still live under unknown threats, suffering from intense pressure since their privacy is not sufficiently protected. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the right of media should be restricted so as not to harm the lives of innocent people. Nevertheless, it is often expected to reveal the private lives of important people including politicians to encourage the public to make fair decisions.