in many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many countries nowadays have widened their food production to reach out to more consumers all around the world. This essay agrees with this movement due to the dietary diversity that helps people consume more nourishing food. Moreover, the rise of agribusiness has increased food production efficiency. However, the carbon footprint might be a minor food transportation and refrigeration issue. Global access to a wide variety of food offers food security, allowing those societies with economic disparity to have access to nutrient food fairly priced. Additionally, having a diverse choice of food will not only increase public health but also lead to a cultural connection among people all around the world. For instance, in 2012 a study of gastronomy revealed that having access to a diverse diet increases people’s health by up to 60% as well as their interest in the culture of other societies. while global food selection promotes a culinary playground, allowing us to explore exotic spices from Morocco to India, it might offer a carbon footprint conversely. This may not be a concerning issue due to the sustainable food practices that ensure secure food transportation and refrigeration. There still are debates on this problem. For example, Iran’s government has proven that the imported meat from China contained high amounts of food additives that increased the rate of cancer in recent years. In conclusion, offering diverse diets globally is a positive movement, promoting people’s health and fair trade. However, there are some concerns regarding food transportation which could be alleviated by modern ways of agriculture as well as sustainable practices.