Some say that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often said that sport plays a vital role in today’s society. Apart from this thinking, people consider playing sport is just an activity that they enjoy doing in their spare time. I gravitate towards the idea that sports are a significant contributor to a healthy and affluent society. On the one hand, sports is indeed a type of leisure activity. As a result, they tend to think that sports have a minor role in their lives. For example, people seem to spend most of their time working to earn a living and they only play sports when they finish their work and for their physical nature in free time. One more reason for this statement is although sports are usually competitive, people engage in many recreational activities just for relaxation after a hard-working day. It leads to the fact that not many people play sports professionally, they mainly do it of their own volition. On the other hand, I believe that sports play an essential role in our lives. First and foremost, for a long time, doctors claimed that playing sports is one of, if not the best way to improve both physical and mental health. As we exercise, our stamina, agility, musculation’s extendibility can be strengthened right away with the improvement of the immune system. Thus, it helps prevent many diseases relating to inactivities like back pain or obesity. Furthermore, this kind of activity is used as a connecting tool between countries around the globe, such as World Cup or Olympic Games. While the participants from each country take part in the games, it will help to lessen the tension and remain good international relations. In conclusion, although in most cases, sports are considered as a pastime because people do not see how sports influent the globe to move on. However, I side with those who value sports as one factor of societal development.