Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Imports should be avoided wherever possible, and each country should be self-sufficient in terms of the amount of food it produces, and there are several reasons why I believe this should be done. The most important reason for this is that the local diet eliminates the need for food transport, that is, consumes less gasoline and thus significantly reduces air pollution. Less pollution means fewer cases of respiratory diseases such as asthma and bronchitis, and overall improved well-being. Another reason why I am in favour of this idea is that food would be much cheaper by avoiding shipping costs. Nowadays, some products are imported from countries several tens of thousands of miles away. China, for example, has started importing Brazilian beef in conjunction with its recent economic boom, the distance between China and Brazil is about ten thousand miles. By a simple calculation, it is easy to understand that an important sum could be saved if the Chinese stayed true to their former food tastes. A final reason is the quality of the food. Local products tend to be of higher quality and therefore taste better. Cereals are sometimes harvested before they ripen, which leads to nutrient deficiencies in the plants because from the moment the crop is cut off from the rest of the plant, it no longer receives nutrients. For example, a tomato plant can ripen during transport, so that it is ripe for sale, which is good for business. In conclusion, I strongly support the idea that countries ought to try as much as possible to eat only the food they produce, as this would reduce air pollution and ensure that food is cheaper and more palatable than imported food.