In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

During the last few years, the number of small merchants' shops is plumbed due to the decrease in the affluence of customers, that prefer going shopping in huge shopping centre and do the grocery shopping in large supermakets, instead of purchase from local farmers. My opinion this is definitely not a positive trend, because penalise small business that are vital for the economic well-being of a small town or a city. First of all, the increase of big shopping centre, and the subsequent closure of local shops, affects the economic well-being of an incredible number of families that survive exclusively thanks to the earnings derived from the income of their activity. For example, in particular in tourism cities, there a lot of people that run an own shop of souvenir, handmade clothes and jewels or typical food. Furthermore, the increase in the number of purchase from mall, encourage, for example, the consumption of fast fashion clothes and shoes and discourage a sustainble shopping. Indeed, shopping centre is full of shops belonging to big retailers and commercial brands. As a result, folks avoid to purchase items made by hand and in small quantities, prefering to buy clothes af well known brands. In conclusion, I strongly believe that is extremely important to preserve local shops in order to safeguard the well-being of their owners and to substain the econimic of small towns. At last but not least, it is necessary to reverse this trend to encourage a more sustainble way of doing shopping and to increase sells of handmade items and local products.