Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are different arguments related to the various environmental problems that we face today. Pertaining to this, certain advocates believe that the loss of specific trees and wildlife is a major concern, while some critics oppose it, as they think there are other areas that need more attention. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that natural hazards like global warming and the shortage of drinking water draw urgent attention. On the one hand, others often give paramount importance to the extinction of certain flora and fauna for two main reasons. Firstly, the public considers that their existence maintains the geological ecosystem and their absence could result in further deterioration. For example, after a kind of wild animals disappeared in Australia, there was a rise in the infestation of crops which led to an increase in human diseases. Secondly, they are considered to be known as endangered species, which leads to their smuggling and/or poaching. To explain, the African continent is known to be a hunting ground for many poachers who kill them for monetary purposes. On the other hand, others and I believe that there are more grievous natural hazards for three reasons. To begin with, global warming has resulted in increased temperatures, melting of glaciers and an alarming rise in seawater levels. To be precise, it is expected that the tiny islands in vast oceans will be lost forever in the near future. Moreover, there is a consistent rise in air, water and soil pollution because of industrialization. For instance, the quality of air in New Delhi is reported to be the worst in India. Lastly, there will be a wet drought in future as there will be water all around but it will not be potable. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I truly feel that there are other natural disasters that need universal attention at the earliest. It is recommended to everyone to maintain the ecosystem if humanity has to survive.