With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Since the dawn of technology, readers preference for digital books to physical has grown significantly. Furthermore, it is considered as a positive development amongst a few though many disagree. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits of using electronic books along with some drawbacks related to it. The main advantages of reading from e-books are that it is profoundly economical as well as portable. First of all, novels, magazines and textbooks which are to be read online are inexpensive in comparison to their hardcopy. Moreover, readers might get additional discounts by applying coupons, if they purchase a softcopy of a specific read. In addition, as e-gadgets, such as - phones, tablets and laptops are carried by users everywhere, they can simply skim and scan through any reader or novel using these devices. Consequently, additional baggage is reduced. Despite these advantages, over-exposure to screen and losses faced by physical book shops and libraries are few demerits of this development. Since bibliophiles spend most of their time being glued to their smartphones or computers in order to read, it can have a detrimental impact on not only their eyes but also on their health, for example causes sleep deprivation. In fact, it has been reported by Cambridge University that eight out of ten students who go through a piece of writing via e-gadgets tend to have increased eyesight. Another issue is the shutting down of local bookstores due to the lack of customers. As a result, 20% of the citizens across the globe have been made redundant while many previously self-employed persons are facing challenges seeking new ways to earn money. In conclusion, even though the popularity of reading online has surged, most of the bookworms espouse the physical form of it. Furthermore, reliance on digital books is beneficial, for it enables individuals to observe frugality and can be referred anytime and anywhere; however, it might result in an increase of eyesight while causing losses in business.