Advertising has become important tool for business and society. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Advertising is directed to a large number of people and not to one individual. Advertising is communication about products or ideas. In this essay, I will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages and explain why I feel that it has more benefits. To begin with, the main object of the manufacturer in advertising their products is to promote the sale of their products. Goods produced on a mass scale are marketed by the method of mass persuasion through advertising. Repetition of advertisements, the manufacturers are not only able to retain existing markets but are also to expand the markets both by attracting more people to their products and also by suggesting new uses for them. For example, Apple company promotes their products through commercials and print ads, focusing on how its products are different from competitors and engaged the target audience to buy their new products. Advertising is a helping hand to selling. On the flip side, a major drawback of advertising is a misrepresentation of facts regarding products and services. Advertisers usually misrepresent the unreal benefits of a product and make tall claims to excite people to indulge in actions leading to their advantage, but opposed to consumer's self-interest. For instance, many smartphone products offered a long life usage of battery. However, it depends on how much of usages on daily basis. As a result, this may lead to misunderstanding of the products for a consumer. In conclusion, I personally agree that it is very useful to promote their products and persuade the consumer to buy them. However, the buyer would have to pay attention before purchasing the products because the advertising can be misrepresented.