Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, supermarkets are stocked with eatable products globally. Some would argue that it is better if food commodities were not imported. In my opinion, I firmly believe that this view is correct, and will discuss the reasons in this essay. Firstly, it is irrefutable that importing edibles can have a negative effect on local culture, which can be seen in countries such as Japan where imported foodstuff has become more popular than traditional, local produce, eroding people's understanding of their own traditions. Although some would claim that this is a natural part of economic development in an increasingly global world, it should also be noted that any loss of regional culture would be detrimental. A second major reason to reduce imports is the environmental cost. Currently, many nutritional imports, such as fruit, are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, making the product more expensive to buy and increasing pollution from exhaust fumes. Despite the fact that the trade-in food exports has existed for many years, it is asserted that a reduction would bring significant financial and environmental gains. However, many jobs depend on consumable product exports and some less developed countries may even depend on this trade for economic survival. In spite of this, the importance of developing local trade should not be undervalued. In conclusion, it is certain that reducing food imports would have cultural and environmental benefits. Additionally, the local economy should prosper commercially as the demand for local and regional products remains high resisting competition from overseas.