In some countries, university students live at home with their families while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Many students choose to study at the universities in their hometowns, while others apply to move to another city for continuing education. It is a widely-held belief that relocating to study has more positive effects on students due to some reasons that will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, the young generation learns to be independent by living away from their families while studying. This may bring about the development of more responsible characters. Also, they become more self-supporting both emotionally and financially as they have to work to meet their needs. This will lead them to be more assertive in every stage of their lives. In addition, they may become more self-confident by living on their own as they have to overcome obstacles in their pathway. Thus, they will believe in themselves more which will help them to become more successful not only in their education but also in their personal and work life. Admittedly, it seems that opting for a university to study away from the students ' hometowns may have some negative impacts on their spirits. They may develop separation anxiety and depression due to loneliness. However, it would appear that the positive effects outweigh the negative impacts due to mentioned reasons. To conclude, it appears that there are more benefits for students to live away from their families while attending universities. This decision will bring them independence, self-confidence, and self-esteem which are positive points for an individual's personality. However, this is not to say that everyone benefits from this choice, but it appears to be the case very frequently.