It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children ?

Learning from decisions we make in our life is part of a person's growth but some of them can lead to undesired consequences. Therefore, gaining the ability to identify what is right or wrong at an early stage in life can significantly impact your outlook on certain situations in life. The ability to distinguish between the choices is often delivered through punishment for taking making wrong decisions. I do not agree with this approach as it comes with major cons which this essay throws light on. Firstly, teaching children through the act of punishment for their mistakes can cause more harm than it does good by damaging their self-esteem at a young age. Finally, pupils learn from the mistakes they do. Giving a penalty for their mistakes would risk their development through learning lessons from their wrongful doings. For example, some kids will be encouraged more to try new skills as they would not be penalised for any mistake they commit. Conversely, there might be situations where parents, as well as teachers, would have to penalise the kid's behaviour.In that case, penalties that cause less damage to the individual's self-esteem and put more emphasis on learning. For example, not giving out extra marks on an activity on which a student a false decision. This will motivate them to learn and develop the right mindset to make those choices in the future. To conclude, punishing young students can lower their confidence and self-belief so it should be avoided at home as well as in classrooms. Punishments should be replaced by constructive criticism of their choices so they can grow and be more confident to choose the right path in their lives ahead.