Some people think that foreign visitors should be charged more than locals when they visit cultural and tourist attractions in a country. To what extent do you agree with this view?

With the global advancement in technology and transport, there has been widespread community connect resulting in a large number of tourists visiting cultural heritage properties and tourist attraction of various countries. In this essay, an attempt is made to highlight the necessity of increased prices for the foreign tourist than the locals. One school of thought is, to charge higher than the normal rates when, global passengers are visiting cultural and tourist spots across the country, because it helps locals to earn their bred better more efficiently. Furthermore, it adds up the foreign revenue to the government’s treasury, which, subsequently, contributes to developing cultural infrastructure. As per the report published by the Ministry of social welfare and culture preservation, it was stated that, earnings from the locations where higher rates were applicable for external tourists, had seen a growth of 35% year on year. Hence it is essential to have inflated rates for global tourists. Having said that, on the other hand, some people contradict the opinion and think that, same charges should be applicable to all without discriminating the fact that from where they are coming from. Because it will attract more tourist footfall at such locations resulting in the spread of values and culture at the global level. It will also create a feeling of goodwill in the hearts of foreign visitors. Study shows that places where tourist had to spend the same amount of money as like locals, there has been an exponential increase in the number of visitors visiting such places, In nutshell, applying inflated charges to foreign tourist, help in generating a good amount of foreign exchange boosting the local economy, however, one should not forget that, uplifting the local culture globally is equally important by not discriminating the charges for global visitors