Some people believe that old buildings should be replaced with more modern ones. Other people argue that we should protect old buildings because they have a special value. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that ancient buildings and palaces should be removed to construct the latest style buildings, while others think that historic buildings must be protected as they have a unique value. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as, to why aged buildings should be protected. Firstly, in many countries governments and local bodies give more importance to preserving old buildings and palaces because it reflects their culture and architecture, and subsequently increases tourism and economic development. For example, one daily NEWS paper conducted an online survey in India and reported that many foreign country people are interested to visit historic buildings and aged temples to see the beauty of constructions, interior designs and artwork. In particular, people are keen to see the ancient palaces such as Mysore Palace, Taj Mahal, Thomas church, because it reflects the culture and way of life. On the other hand, some view the replacement of old buildings with apartments as a necessity due to congestion and overcrowding. Another main issue is a lack of space in cities to build new villas and government offices to serve the people. Thus, governments are forced to demolish the historic buildings which are located in the centre of the city. For instance, few days before Chennai corporation published one circular in the daily magazine, regarding the knocking down of the lighthouse which was thereafter,replaced with new bridges in order to control the traffic jams in the city. To conclude, I strongly believe that ancient palaces and buildings always have a peculiar value and identity of the nation. So, governments and tourism departments should make plans and policies to save such buildings, maintaining properly to attract visitors.