Write about the following topic: It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has become a familiar phenomenon among young people to take a gap year after high school years. For some, the downsides of such a choice are eclipsed by the merits. This essay will present both sides and will highlight as well the positives and the negatives with some real examples. To commerce with those who opine that, it is important for students to take a rest after they finish the upper grades level. They believe that the next phase of their life is crucial and they need deep thinking to know exactly what kind of career they want for their future. However, they claim that travelling abroad or trying to find a part-time job or even a full-time one, will certainly help them to gain a wider perspective of the market and discover which job type or lifestyle they want to live. To advocate their point, they refer to a study that has shown figures of people who changed their minds about one university to another after they worked in a specific sector and discovered their talents. On the contrary, others find such time off between school years and university is not necessary at all. Actually, they tend to think that young people should keep studying without any stopping as they had years before to decide the field to study and the major they prefer to occupy. Besides that, they indicate that many surveys have shown a huge number of students, who were trapped because they started making their own money, and therefore they preferred to keep working rather than starting their high educational level and later on have shown regret because they did not continue to learn. To sum up, the aforementioned views clearly show both sides. Two of them are good according to the individual perspective and his/ her personality and goals. In the end, it is a personal choice and everyone is able to choose the best as he/she believes.