Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Serious issues have been caused in urban areas due to the excess population. Traffic congestion and Water scarcity are the two major concerns. Strict policies and rules by the individuals and governments will help to handle these troubles. Firstly, Traffic congestion is caused by many personal cars on the road. Many people can afford to buy cars due to the availability of low -cost loans. Traffic congestion can be avoided using carpooling as one of the solutions for commuting to work. For example, in my company, posters are put up in the canteen, in the lift and in the common areas too to bring awareness and benefits about car-pooling. Secondly, people must make use of more public transport such as metros and buses. Government should provide facilities as bus passes at affordable rates for all classes of people. Another issue is the water scarcity that is caused due to the excess usage of water. People should make use of water wisely. For instance, reuse the used water for watering the plants, cleaning the driveways. Governments can implement more irrigation projects to bring water from other areas where there is an excess amount of water to the cities. Also, another solution for the government is to make rainwater harvesting mandatory. To illustrate, in Bengaluru and in some other cities, residential apartments adopted already rainwater harvesting. In conclusion, governments and individuals should work together by taking necessary measures to address the Traffic congestion and Water scarcity problems in the cities to make the lives of inhabitants better.