The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this modern,era environmental deterioration is exacerbating. Many people believe that the fuel cost hike is the most effective way to tackle this issue. I completely disagree with this notion and the following essay will put forward points in support of my view. Firstly, hiking up the gas prices is not a sustainable solution as this doesn't deter individuals from buying automobiles. As there are no alternate affordable renewable fuel options available people will still continue to use fossil fuels to fill up their vehicles. Consequently, they will purchase motor vehicles which causes carbon emission harmful to the environment. For example, In the USA, even though fuel prices are skyrocketing, the automobile industry is thriving. So, I believe that bringing up gas prices is not a viable option in the long run. Moreover, carbon exhaustion from fuels is not the major contributor to environmental problems. In fact, it makes up only about 10% of the global habitat degradation. There are other severe causative factors such as plastic waste, industrial pollution etc. For instance, plastic is the most harmful pollutant causing harm globally. So, if the governments only concentrate on fuel emission and turn a blind eye to other issues, it won't help the environment. To conclude, many opine that elevating fuel costs will help in environmental restoration. I strongly disagree with this statement as carbon waste is not the major issue causing nature destruction. Also, unless an alternate fuel is discovered people will still invest in automobiles. Government should encourage citizens to opt for green energy resources through subsidising such initiatives.