Some people think that it is more important to plant trees in open areas of towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that planting greenery in urban areas is more important than erecting new apartment buildings instead. I totally agree with this statement and think that it might help to improve the environmental situation in the world and also will be beneficial for citizens’ health. One of the reasons why it is better to have more trees in the cities is that they help to reduce noise and air pollutions. To begin with, it is well known that there is a huge concentration of different means of transportation in cities, which leads to increasing the harmful effect to the environment in general. For example, there are many surveys that reveal that the level of gas emission in urban areas much higher than in rural areas. Also, people usually cannot find tranquil places in cities, and it might cause depressions or problems with their health. Another obvious point to growing more plants is that it helps to make people’s physical health better. Usually, people who live in towns have a sedentary lifestyle with minimum activities during the day, and, as a result, it triggers a lot of different issues with people’s health. Fortunately, we have tons of doctors’ recommendations on how to improve our health condition, and the main one is to add physical activities into our daily routine. Thus, having more green spaces creates more opportunities for spending weekends actively with family members or friends. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is better to expand green places in cities and towns as it is more advantageous for both society and nature.