In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they have bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food in that way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In few nations, the public can be often seen wasting a large number of eatables that they purchase from hotels and cafes. There can be plenty of reasons behind this attitude of humans for food wastage such as rich people have easily available resources and lack of awareness about body's dietary pattern. This essay will discuss the reasons as well as the possible ways to mitigate this grave issue of discarding food. The majority of the population do waste meals that they buy from restaurants or any other eat out points, because of several reasons, one of them can be, their rich economic status which does not allow them to realise the importance of acquiring eatables as it is accessible to them very easily. Hence, they are not mindful of food wastage and gradually it becomes their behavioural pattern. The other reason can be, mankind is not aware of their balance diet or the amount of meal that the body requires as it differs from person to person as per their physical activity. Therefore, they buy more than what they need as a result the leftover gets discarded. The vital measures that can be taken to address this issue can be many implementations at a personal level as well as the government level. Firstly, a food bank can be made as a part of each and every foods bars or cafe, so that the public can transfer the clean leftover from their plates to the food bank storage. Anyone who is needy can always access this equipment to withdraw food free of charge. Secondly, executing a zero-waste system; which does not allow the visitors to leave food behind otherwise it should be penalized. As a result, humans are bound to either finish their food or to take it away in packets as nobody wants to pay extra for wasting food. To conclude, it is high time to make people aware of their fundamental duties towards food in order to preserve it for the needy. Instead of throwing away the food items due to their rich economic status or not knowing their body requirements, they shall opt for food banks or be ready to get penalized.