Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

IMPOSITION OF SPECIAL TAXES ON SUGARY FOODS AND DRINKS HAS BEEN IMPLEMENTED IN SOME PARTS OF THE WORLD. WHILE SOME PEOPLE CONSIDER THIS INITIATIVE A POSITIVE ONE, OTHERS OPPOSE. IN THIS ESSAY, I WILL DISCUSS BOTH ARGUMENTS GIVEN AND EXPLAIN MY SUPPORT FOR THE FORMER. THERE ARE SALIENT REASONS WHY LEVYING FOODS AND BEVERAGES WITH A HIGH AMOUNT OF SUGAR, AN AGREEABLE MOVE. FIRSTLY, COSTLY SUGAR-RICH PRODUCTS WOULD DETER CONSUMERS FROM CONSUMING THEM AND WOULD, INSTEAD, ENCOURAGED THEM TO CHOOSE HEALTHIER OPTION WHICH IS LESS PRICEY. THE PREVALENCE OF DIABETES AND OBESITY, WHICH ARE PRIMARILY CAUSED BY HIGH INTAKE OF SUGAR, CAN BE SEEN IN COUNTRIES WHERE LOW-COST JUNK FOODS ARE UBIQUITOUS, SUCH AS IN THE CASE OF THE USA AND MEXICO. BY CONTRAST, JAPAN AND KOREA, WHERE HEALTHY SUSTENANCE ARE PRICED CHEAPER THAN SUGARY ONES, HAS THE LEAST NUMBER OF HEALTH CONCERNS GIVEN. ON THE OTHER HAND, OPPONENTS BELIEVE THAT BUREAUCRATIC MOVE AS SUCH, IS AN UTTER VIOLATION OF THEIR RIGHT TO CHOOSE. AFTER ALL, THEY ARE ADULTS, SAPIENT ENOUGH TO CHOOSE THEIR SUSTENANCE PREFERENCES AND RESPONSIBLE ENOUGH TO LEAD THEIR LIVES ACCORDING TO HOW THEY WANT IT TO BE. BESIDES, COMMERCIALLY PRODUCED FOODS, ALBEIT NOTORIOUS FOR THEIR HIGH FRUCTOSE CONTENT, IS AFFORDABLE AND ACCESSIBLE EVERYWHERE UNLIKE HEALTHIER FOOD OPTIONS WHICH REQUIRES PREPARATIONS. MAKING VEGETABLE SALAD FOR INSTANCE, NEEDS A NUMBER OF INGREDIENTS AND LABORIOUS PEELING AND CHOPPING. IN MY OPINION, HOWEVER, THE GOVERNMENT INITIATIVE ON TAX IMPOSITION AGAINST SUGARY FOOD AND BEVERAGE PRODUCTS IS COMMENDABLE IN THE SENSE THAT IT PROTECTS THE OVERALL HEALTH AND WELLNESS OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC BY PUSHING THEM TO A HEALTHIER LIFESTYLE AND AWAY FROM DEBILITATING DISEASES WHICH CAN BE EASILY AVOIDED BY CONSUMING MILD TO MODERATE AMOUNT OF SUGAR. TO RECAPITULATE, WHILE CERTAIN CONSUMERS FEEL THAT EXCISE ON SUGAR-RICH FOOD PRODUCTS IS AN INFRINGEMENT AGAINST THEIR RIGHT TO CHOOSE, I CONTEND THAT THIS VIOLATION IS EXIGUOUS WHEN COMPARE TO THE HEALTH BENEFITS THAT THIS MOVEMENT CONFER TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC.