Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a “fat tax” is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Living a healthy life has become an important subject of discussion in most cultures around the world. Some believe that government should take part in the responsibility for a healthier society, and therefore discourage people from buying it by increasing its taxation, while others disagree. This essay aims to discuss both points of view and defend why taxing could help people to create, and maintain better habits. Tax is usually seen as an unfair intervention from the government, and for some people, when it comes to food, people's judgement should be respected. So that, nobody should pay more to eat anything, especially because for many, unhealth food are the only affordable meal. Also, they claim that adults are able to make better decisions for themselves, and because of that, taxing unhealthy food, such as soft drinks or sweets is not necessary. Another school of thought is that taxing food that is healthless, could leave room for incentive better alimentation habits, especially for children. If a child can buy a fresh sandwich instead of a hamburger, because the first one cost far less than the second, he will build taste to make healthier choices later in life. In addition, the extra money from the tax could help to decrease the prices of healthy food, making it the natural choice for everyone, including the poorest. To conclude, tax "fast food " could be the way for a healthier society since the money from it is used to encourage people to make better choices. In other words, in cultures where health is important, the government should interfere to help possibilities reach everyone.