The best way to tackle the problem of obesity is to educate people about healthy eating. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, people are more health-conscious in today’s society. While some people reckon that the most effective way to deal with the problem of obesity is to instill healthy eating habits into people, I totally agree with this statement, and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. To begin with, people ’s eating habits can be the root cause of obesity; therefore, guiding individuals to stick with healthier foods can help reduce obesity in the long term. That is to say, sustenance is an important part of people ’s daily lives. If they fail to manage their eating habits, they are more likely to suffer from obesity or even cardiovascular diseases. For example, in the USA, in order to advocate low-calorie and additive-free foods, many local governments coordinate with supermarkets, displaying a lot of healthy foods rich in minerals, nutrients and fibres on the shelves, making them more visible to customers. As a result, owing to this proposal, certain cities such as New York and Texas have shown a lower rate of obesity. Nowadays, people live fast-paced lives, leaving them less time to work out or go to a doctor for medical advice, which may increase the risk of developing some health conditions. To be more specific, most citizens are unable to allocate time to do physical exercise, since they usually spend more time on work, leading them to eat ready-to-eat or packaged foods, resulting in obesity. For instance, in Japan, many workers often have to work overtime and struggle to maintain a work -life balance; additionally, they tend to buy convenience or fast foods instead of preparing meals themselves, as they want to finish their work more efficiently. Consequently, the high consumption of fatty and sugary ultra-processed foods causes many employees to become obese at an early age. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the best way to avoid obesity is to instruct people to start having healthy meals every day, due to its importance in people ’s lives and its ability to better align with individuals’ living patterns.