Some people prefer one-on-one lessons, while others prefer groups. Discuss both views, and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether personal lessons are more desirable for people’s learning than group lessons or whether receiving lectures in a group is more favorable than studying with only tutors. In this essay, I am going to examine both points of view and then explain why I believe that studying with teachers without other students is the better way to acquire knowledge. There are some people who claim private lectures are more useful than group lectures. This is because lessons can be tailored to satisfy an individual learner’s needs. For instance, at school, pupils need to listen to what they have already known, which many think is a waste of time. It is also possible to say learners need not hesitate to ask teachers to explain more about what they cannot understand. A number of teachers in Japan say there are some students who cannot ask questions during the class surrounded by others, hampering their progress in any field. On the other hand, it is often claimed that receiving lessons with others is preferable to studying without other learners. This is because studying in a group contributes to making people more considerate of those around them. In group lessons, there may be some cases where they need to assist others needing special support, and this situation cultivates the spirit of altruism. A second point is that they can become more creative by exchanging their opinions with others. According to Masayoshi Son, a famous Japanese entrepreneur, one of the requisites businessmen should have is creativity, without which they could not survive. Before entering the business world, students need to acquire this quality. In conclusion, both points have their own merits. On balance, however, I feel that taking lessons without other learners is more desirable. This is because it is a time-efficient way to enable people to obtain better academic grades, which many consider indispensable for their future careers.