It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advancements in technology and investments into the science field, trips over long distances became more available. However, many people are concerned about whether this trend is positive or negative. I believe travelling to remote areas benefits humankind in terms of discoveries, both personal and scientific. On the one hand, there is a common notion that increasing tourism trends are causing the pollution of the environment. Visiting the sights of a country, let it be a historical building or a natural reserve, strangers often leave their garbage in unacceptable places instead of throwing them into a trash bin. This activity, in turn, results in the accumulation of rubbish in public spaces or nature. On the other hand, scientific travels to remote areas significantly help researchers to progress in their field, introducing new knowledge to the world. Many inventions have been made in several fields thanks to the research programs carried in foreign countries. Moreover, expeditions encourage historians to carry out their investigations and acquire new knowledge about places and write it in their books later. Another point to consider is that adventures that tourists go through in a foreign country help them to extend knowledge horizons, increasing their worldview at the same time. Any region has a lot to offer to a person, ranging from new species to new cultures, and getting to know with all that may stimulate the creation of another worldview. Also if people make acquaintances in another country, there is a good chance that it tightens the global population together. To conclude, travelling to remote regions has become a popular activity in recent years. Although some people may claim for its adverse effects on the environment, I believe it may lead to new developments in a science field and gift people unforgettable experiences.