More and more people today are spending large amounts of money on their appearance in order to look younger. Why do people want to look younger? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Of all the problems that are still baffling scientists, perhaps one of the most challenging is how to combat the effects of the ageing process. Although there are sensible reasons why increasingly many people choose to have plastic surgery such as a face-lift or brow-lift or buy beauty products to make themselves look younger. I feel that this development is largely negative. There are two main contributors to people wanting to look younger. Chief of these is that it is certainly true that most people look worse as they age. Hardly ever do we find a person who feels good about his or her wrinkles, or grey hair. Added to this is the fact that advertisers can now easily target and prey on people who feel insecure about their ageing appearance, portraying the idea that only by having a youthful look can one be confident. Users of social media sites like Facebook or Twitter, for example, are bombarded with adverts showing how unhappy those with ageing look feel and how easy it is to turn the clock back ten or even twenty years. This trend can bring in its wake many problems. The key problem is that many so-called elixirs of life that claim that skin will be rejuvenated after use or that wrinkles will disappear do not actually 1 work. This can be seen in the way countless appearance-conscious people are lured into buying these products because of such bold claims, only to be disappointed time and time again since their wrinkles still persist. Furthermore, many cosmetic procedures result in the person looking worse than before. The victims of these botched operations are then forced into having further prohibitively expensive procedures. In conclusion, the beauty industry is thriving and this is largely because it is playing on people ’s insecurities about growing older. Given the disappointing results of cosmetic products and plastic surgery procedures, the trend towards spending sizable amounts of money in the hope that their youthful appearance can be restored is unwelcome.