In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices, and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more municipal governments designed their cities according to various purposes in designated blocks. I believe the drawbacks of this phenomenon outweigh the merits. First and foremost, the separation of facilities could reduce the disturbance of noise to each other. Pupils, as a salient example, are prone to be distracted and the hustle and bustle of shops around schools may be an enormous temptation for them to concentrate on study. Similarly, putting business districts apart from school zones could lessen the possibility of meeting strangers and wrongdoers for youngsters. Any unfamiliar people drafting around, for example, will be easily recognised and raise safety attentions for the young. In addition, centralised infrastructure constructions and maintenance for different functions save costs for public service. High street areas, for instance, require an intense power supply and garbage cleaning more than school zones. On the other hand, city dwellers are spending a tremendous amount of time and cost on commuting. Parents, especially, have to send their descendants to school then to work in the morning in congested traffic. Secondly, Inhabited regions with shops, schools, parks and business offices are better suitable for living. For instance, it creates a safer street with people around as a community network for kids. Furthermore, empty areas, such as school and office zone at night, forge a space for criminal activities. In conclusion, the downside of extreme separation of city functions by area has long term repercussions on residents and a well-mixed city plan based on communities should be more delightful for society as a whole.