Many people think cheap air travel should be guiding because it gives ordinary people freedom to travel further. However, others think this leads to environmental problems, so air travel should be more expensive in order to discourage people from having it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

An increasing number of people argue that as planes have some adverse impact on the quality of air, regulators should increase the fares of the travel, whereas others believe it should be affordable to each income category of the society. While some damage could be observed as a result of excessive usage of aircrafts, I personally believe that travelling overseas should not be a luxury. Nowadays, our environment suffers from a rising amount of threats towards its sustainability, so everyone is in the search of a solution to eliminate the damage. One of them is increasing the prices of tickets for air travel so that the demand for it may decrease. As a result of it, only some part of the society would afford to travel by air, even many will try to find new ways of travelling. Unless the engine of the planes is not adapted to an environmentally friendly system, the pollution that comes from it will still remain. So, in order to eliminate the environmental waste of air transport, the improvement of the technology should also be considered. However, I concur that the high costs of travel could affect people even more. Due to these changes in the regulations, many youngsters and low-income families will have no incentive towards travelling and exploring. To illustrate, once young people have access to low-budget flights, they start to experience new cultures which result in the positive development of theirs. Starting from the early 2000s, people aged under 30 have the privilege to take part in EU funded programs that ensure the mobility of participants with affordable flights. For not violating the right of travelling of many people, different ticket fares should be available addressing each portion of the society. To conclude, even though the negative impact of air travelling on the environment is inevitable as yet, some technological improvements can be done instead of increasing the prices of air transport which could result in the unfair access of travel for some.