Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the current times, advertisements play a terrific role in influencing people's lives. A few populaces believe that commercials generate purchases for products that are not a necessity, and others think that they demonstrate interesting features which may have a positive impact on individuals. I agree that few advertisements enforce customers to buy the product; however, I believe that there are few products that touch the lives of people, and this essay will throw some light on the reasons for these. On the one hand, some of the advertisements focus on glamour to attract the audience as they fail to demonstrate the features of the actual product. There is also a scenario where only positives are displayed because of which middle-class people think they will be highly benefitted from the product and decide to purchase it. A typical illustration of this would be advertisements consisting of products such as hair dye and fairness cream, and it has been observed that the majority of the impulse buy happen for these items. On the other hand, there are a few commercials that touch the heart of individuals, as they keep it simple and realistic through which the audience can relate. This is because the focus is on the quality of the product rather than increasing sales. For instance, babies diaper is the kind of commodity that fulfil the needs of every parent by taking care of the infants. Another example of a value-adding product is the chocolate box advertisement during festivals, as they spread happiness amongst all the family members. These are the kind of advertisements that promote the product in the right manner. In conclusion, although I believe that some commercials push the customer to purchase through false means, there are few advertisements that describe the real need of the product and demonstrate all the features in the right manner.