Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The wide use of social media platforms as a source for news and a means of communication has been adopted by many. The benefits definitely are more than the associated downsides in my opinion. One of the benefits these social networks have brought since their introduction is the ease it provides in the world of communication. Information is readily passed to one another faster and quicker with no hassle. On the other hand, before the existence of these online platforms the only means by which people interacted with others, for instance, those in a distant land is through letters and this was much slower because it took days before it can be received. However, only an E-mail is required today as an example. Also, there is relatively no need for newspapers as these have become obsolete. Although the geriatric population would argue about its usefulness, the younger generation thinks otherwise. Through the influence of young adults, the elderly are beginning to learn how to read their daily news on mobile phones. Therefore, the general use of these newsprints have exponentially declined and media houses are evolving as well. For instance, more and more news are provided online due to the technology shift. In conclusion, the popular use of these gadgets such as laptops, note pads and so on have influenced the way people communicate and get their information. Therefore, I reiterate my point that the merits are more than the drawbacks as it has provided simplicity and circumvented time-wasting.