In recent years, many small shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. is this a postive or negative development?

In recent years, the number of those preferring shopping centres instead of local stores has been on the rise. I think this trend has both positive and negative sides, which will be explored in this essay. On the one hand, local stores which are usually small in size will lose their capital, and they may be left with no choice but to close their business permanently since they do not have enough revenue to meet their expenditure. As a result, those working in these stores will lose their careers and salaries. Traditional shops can be a fine example of shops that are on the brink of extinction since people assume shopping in high-end malls is glamorous, they avoid buying local artefacts which results in the unemployment of craftsman. Therefore, the growing popularity of shopping centres can result in the redundancy of those working in local stores. On the other hand, a state-of-the-art shopping complex might make customers feel more comfortable about shopping. Indeed, shoppers can compare the features and prices of various products and brands which are all located in one place. This can prevent clients from wasting money and time to search different small shops in different parts of the city to find their suitable product. Thus, the resultant convenience of shopping in modern malls can be considered to be a positive point. In conclusion, shifting trends from visiting small stores to huge malls has its own positive and negative effects. Although this trend is likely to result in the redundancy of those working in local stores, it makes customers feel more comfortable about shopping since they can save time and money when they can compare all products in one place.