Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about genetic engineering nowadays. While some of them consider that it has negative impacts on health, personally I believe, genetic engineering will protect many lives. There several reasons make people to think in a way that against benefits of genetic engineering. Firstly, there is a scientific proof to defend this idea that modifying of genes decreases the nutritional value of daily foods. For example, GMO fruits, such as green big apples taste less delicious than natural ones. Secondly, some are sure that manipulation of genes can cause specific diseases in the long run. For instance, if somebody wants to change their body color by altering the gene structure, they may have skin cancer in the long term. Last but not least, genetic modification is known to cause natural imbalances. On the contrary of above arguments, I consider the genetic engineering is a contribution of science to humanity. One of the advantages is the changes generally make crops more sustainable to insects and diseases because they change the regulation of adverse effects. For instance, today, products are healthier and larger in terms of production. In addition, some inherited diseases will no longer be present in the human body due to the manipulation of DNA. Moreover, scientists are using this technological advancement to develop treatments for various deadly diseases. In my opinion, genetic engineering is a gift of science for us. In conclusion, although genetic engineering has some cons, I support the view that includes beneficial sides of this contribution outweigh harmful sides in the long time.