Today due to advanced medicine, people are living longer. Because of this, older people are projected to outnumber younger people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years the average life expectancy has been on the rise owing to medical advances. Therefore, the number of seniors is going to be higher than the number of younger people. The benefits and drawbacks of this trend will be compared in this essay. One of the considerable arising merits is that those living for a longer period of time can enjoy their lives more as they can experience new inventions and innovations which were not available when they were younger. For example, watching Netflix or using a cellphone to order a can bring excitement to the lives of old grandparents who could not have seen these things if they had died earlier. Moreover, the youth can enjoy their parents’ and grandparents’ companion in their life. Indeed, older members of a family can support the younger ones emotionally and ameliorate their stress when they are pressed for time and money to fulfil their career ambitions or achieve academic goals. From an economic standpoint, societies can be adversely affected by the excess number of pensioners. Firstly, the number of sick or disabled people among those who had lived longer is probably higher than its average in the whole population which makes authorities allocate a huge amount of budget for treating these people by operations, drugs, syringes, etc. In addition, there will be more pressure on public funding since the number of pensioners gets higher than the number of taxpayers. In conclusion, the advantages of higher life expectancy such as the impacts on people’s personal and social life outweigh its disadvantages such as the negative effects on the economy.