In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Endeavor is the golden key to success. In some countries, children might receive this message that if they try hard, their efforts will finally pay off and achieve their purposes. This approach might have some upsides and downsides that will be examined in this essay. On the opposite side, it is stated that exposing children to this sentence can result in success in their future lives. It is because children can believe their talents and abilities, and then work hard in order to reach their dreams. A survey conducted among the top students of a ranked university in Iran revealed that most of them in childhood were of the opinion that everything is achievable by trying hard and that belief is the mystery of their brilliant status. Additionally, that powerful sentence can make children more resilient against problems. They become tolerant because they think they can tackle issues by trying efficiently. So, they probably will think outside the box and come up with brilliant ideas in these situations instead of accepting them. In contrast, in terms of its drawbacks, it can sometimes cause problems for their future. Children may sacrifice sweet childhood time when they are trying hard to improve their skills to make a straight bridge to their goals. It is expressed by a well-known psychologist that it can isolate them and destroy their communication abilities. Also, it is sometimes a reason for disappointment. Some young children may try hard but due to a lack understanding of their abilities or circumstances may fail. Therefore, as far as they are mentally vulnerable it can lead to depression, anxiety, and stress. In conclusion, if children accept that if they try hard, they will triumph in their life, it helps them become successful in the future or become resilient in the face of challenges. However, it sometimes can have damaging consequences such as losing socializing or mental problems.