More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It has been observed that an increasing number of learners are opting to educate themselves in institutions of higher education in a non-native land. In this essay, I will first examine the merits and demerits of the trend before I reach a reasoned conclusion. This direction, arguably, has some disadvantages. To begin with, the fees of foreign universities are exorbitant. Wards who wish to study abroad need to shell out a huge sum to get enrolled with global institutions. This puts a lot of pressure not only on the student but also on the parents who usually fund their schooling. Another prominent demerit is that the choice of the institution becomes difficult. There are quite a few academic centres from which a student has to choose the most appropriate one. More often than not learners end up making the wrong choice. However, there are more merits. Exposure to global education is the main advantage associated with this tendency. We live in a globalized world where it becomes imperative for one to be aware of the global economic situation. Educating oneself in such a set-up enhances student's knowledge and ability. In addition. students get to interact and learn alongside learners from different parts of the world. During their interaction, they get exposed to their faith, mores and way of living. For one to be a global citizen, knowledge about individuals from diverse ethnic background becomes necessary. Finally, this also boosts a candidate s employability. To conclude, despite the challenges associated with foreign education. I would still consider this trend of studying in a foreign land as having more benefits for it can transform a young learner into a global citizen.