People are encouraged to get rid of things in order to get the news of fashion and the latest technology. Do The disadvantages of a throwaway society outweigh The economic advantages?

It is irrefutable that consumerism is promoted in many nations of the world. This essay intends to analyse the positive and negative effects of this use-and-throw culture. I personally believe that the disadvantages outstrip the advantages. On the positive side, consumerism leads to mass production, which is something good for the employment sector. Mass manufacturing definitely leads to mass employment. This is undoubtedly beneficial for the overall economy of the country. Furthermore, because of consumerism, people get choices. When there is demand, more and more manufacturers come into the market. For instance, about two decades ago, there was only Kissan tomato ketchup in the market but today we have Heinz, Del Monte, Cremica, Maggi and so many more varieties of tomato ketchup in the market. On the downside, consumerism promotes a use-and-throw culture, which is very bad for the environment. There is a lot of rubbish generated because of excessive consumerism. Unnecessary packaging is also done to make these goods appealing to the eye. Often, this rubbish is not decomposed and ends up in rivers and waterways. This is definitely harmful to the environment. Secondly, consumerism makes people work more and more to afford these products. This workaholism makes them forget to draw a line between work and leisure and also between work and family. The desires never end and, consequently over-working becomes a part of life. This leads to stress and strain in life. Another negative point is that when children or youngsters are lured by these things and their parents cannot afford them, then they resort to petty crime such as pick-pocketing and chain snatching, which is certainly not good for any society. To sum up, consumerism has both merits and demerits, but the cons are definitely more than the pros