Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Although a large number of people consider that under no circumstances should the death penalty be used in modern society, others are of the opinion that execution ought to be the key to punishing for the commission of heinous crimes. Personally, I opine that capital punishment brings about more harm, such as violating moral standards and mistakenly executing innocent people, compared to any possible advantages associated with it. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of punishing criminals with death. Firstly, capital punishment could properly deliver justice to those who have been killed and bring closure for the pain to a victim’s family. Therefore, having perpetrators of heinous crimes executed is the retributive method to help console grieving families and to restore the equilibrium of justice. Secondly, the death penalty can be financially beneficial to the government in the long run. This is because executed defendants no longer have to be cared for at the state's expense resulting in a prison maintenance budget becoming available for the development of the society and welfare of the people. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe there are serious negative aspects of the death penalty, both from the morality’s and justice’s points of view. One potentially appalling drawback is that it is morally unacceptable to infringe the basic right of any human being to live, irrespective of the person’s deeds. For this reason, on no account should the judiciary be even given a legitimate power to take anyone’s life. In addition, equitable and effective as the court system is, it is still not flawless, and there is a possibility of innocent people being wrongly convicted. Having conducted research, for instance, the USA registry revealed that 143 men and women were mistakenly imprisoned in 2019. Taking this into consideration, if the government of the United States had even been given the right to use retributive punishment, the immoral and irrevocable mistake at a cost of 143 people's lives would have been made. In conclusion, I am convinced that, despite the upsides, by no manner of means is the death penalty to be considered reasonable punishment. This is Owing to the fact that not only does it infringe ethical standards, but it also can result in guiltless people being executed.