Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both point of view and give your opinion.

Giving longer prison terms to lower the number of violations has been practised for so long. Whilst others think that the cycle should be broken and find other solutions for it. This essay will discuss both views and give a reasonable example with the writer's opinion at the end. To begin with, punishing criminals with horrific sentences has been deeply rooted in the world. Similarly, people assume that doing so will minimize the bad deeds of criminals and they will not attempt it in future because of the fear of punishment. A concept that is not supported by the example of the percentage of rape cases in a country like India is still growing rapidly despite the fact that they will have to face the death sentence. On the other hand, a number of persons are coming with a different perception towards imprisonment and death penalties. Likewise, this pupil believes that instead of introducing them with horrible penalties they should be engaged with community activities. Which will make them realize how their actions have impacted the victim life catastrophically. This essay agrees that making them work for the community will help to decrease the crime rate. For instance, there has been an enormous amount of research with the prisoners which has shown that after committing a misdeed people go through mental trauma due to their guilt. In conclusion, the debate between people who agree to the heavy prison penalty and those who disagree with them is constant. However, instead of punishing them with long prison terms engaging them with community,services the rate of a misdemeanour could be decreased steadily.