You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

International athletic occasions have been becoming a medium to improve the cultural integrities and economic sector of countries across the world. The majority of people believe that hosting a worldwide sporting event is beneficial to the host, whereas a part of society may contradict it. From my perspective, I strongly assume that any country can have a positive impact from hosting such programs. To begin with, some people are in agreement with the concept that one of the benefits of global sports events is the enormous economic growth to the hosting country. Firstly, the number of overseas tourists will skyrocket in the hosting regions, since this global event attracts them. As a consequence, the exchange rate of trades and currency between people and nations will be multiplied as well as domestic exchange. For an instance, the recent world cup 2018 conducted by FIFA and Russia has welcomed a total of 32 national teams, representing the respective nation, across the globe and this led to a leap in tourisms in Russia’s tourism industry. Consequently, USD 209 million was made as a profitable income, which was used to elevate the economy of Russia afterwards. On the other hand, the rest of the people who argue believe that the international sports events will not only enlarge the host’s expenditure in preparing the event but also increase the chances of growing pollution in the environment. Research shows that every event in the last 50 years has gone over budget, such as the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics outnumbered its 10 billion dollar budget by an additional cost of 41 billion dollars. In addition, the Winter Olympics held in South Korea destroyed mountainsides and made some breeds of animals close to extinction because of constructions and increased consumptions of fossil fuels. In conclusion, global sports incidents are either benefitting and inflicting certain matters for the host nations. It is vital that a promising and perfect strategy should be integrated with massive infrastructure constructions. Despite some environmental damages and security threats, I completely agree with the number of profits that they bring to the hosts in the form of economic growth.