In some countries, women now are able to join the armed forces on equal basis with men. However, some people feel that only men should be members of the army, navy or Air Force. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, some countries have already developed an enlightening society and females can join the army which used to only be available for men. Some claimed that this phenomenon should be prohibited and only men should be soldiers. I put forward that this suggestion is kind of incorrect. People who are in line with this suggestion may point out that this kind of job requires considerable physical strength, and men are far superior to women when considering this. Hence it is fair to say in the army, women tend to underperform and even fail to meet the basic standards, and their presence may put their colleagues in a disadvantageous position. For example, women usually have weaker endurance, so their existence will slow down the speed of the army marching, increasing the risk of being attacked during wartime. However, such an attitude is merely something that stems from stereotypes, since nowadays women joining the army does not automatically mean that they will be allocated on the battlefield, they could play an indisputable crucial role in technology innovations instead. The thinking style could vary a lot between different genders, which means when they are collaborating, they can do divergent thinking and inspire creativity, boosting efficiency dramatically. What is more, another benefit of applying females into the army is that it actually augments women ’s social status. Some may have insular mentalities about women, considering them are gentle as well as delicate. This practice could eliminate it and contribute to removing gender discrimination. In a nutshell, I suppose that though most women demonstrate a weaker body than males, which is not suitable for being a soldier, they could play a major role in technological developments and this policy can promote gender equality. So women should be encouraged to join the army worldwide.