Space exploration costs tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Humans have explored outer space for several decades in search of new discoveries. While spending governmental money on exploring space brings advantages, there are some downsides to this as well. Undoubtedly, the investment in research on other planets is beneficial to society in a number of ways. One evident benefit is that it leads to the development of other fields of research in terms of equipment. Space exploration is closely connected to other areas in science such as biology, chemistry and physics, which means that the technology and knowledge in this area are transferrable to other scientific fields. For instance, observational devices developed for studying planetary bodies could give a deep insight into the development of new medical equipment. Furthermore, space research could provide solutions to some issues which present-day society is facing. Overpopulation, for example, is a common problem around the world that could be solved by discovering and creating a habitable environment on other planets. On the other hand, some drawbacks can be seen in allocating budgets to space expeditions. One of them is that other aspects of society would be short in funding. For instance, education and healthcare are vital to ensure each citizen’s high living standard. If the government places more emphasis on space rather than on these areas, the quality of life of individuals would decline as a result. Another disadvantage of spending government expenditure on exploration outside the earth is the high risk of accidents and catastrophes. In the history of sending spacecraft and satellites into outer space, a number of accidents have occurred, causing them to be destroyed and even incurring some casualties. For this reason, supporting space exploration is a high-risk investment. In conclusion, funding space expeditions can be advantageous to society for further technological advances. However, it could result in the government neglecting other areas of society and in serious disasters. The government should ensure that citizens reap the benefits of research and progress in this area.