In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that fast food consumption is becoming very popular in so many countries causing lots of health concerns for people. I strongly agree with the idea of the government implementing a high tax rule on fast food products in order to reduce its consumption. Nowadays, street food is omnipresent almost everywhere around the world. The reason lies in the fact that they are cheap to make and therefore it is affordable for the majority of people. Moreover, they are high in calories and low in nutrients, causing so many health conditions like obesity, diabetes and cardiac diseases. For instance, according to the" Nutrition" magazine, eighty per cent of people suffering from obesity reported having at least 3 days of fast food per week. Thus, fast food is not a wise choice of food. In order to tackle health problems caused by fast food consumption, the government should increase tax on those foods to make them unaffordable for people. If the price of this unhealthy food source goes up, people will less likely to buy them. The prime example is that Switzerland has no McDonald stores because the government put a 20 per cent higher tax on their foods and eventually all stores got bankrupt and had to close all their branches across the country. As can be seen, demanding a higher than the usual tax on fast food can reduce the sell rate and eventually deterring people from buying them. In my,perspective the government should demand a higher than the usual tax on fast food make them less affordable. By doing that, finally people will think twice before buying them.