Some people say that Ebooks and modern technology will totally replace traditional newspaper and magazines to what extent do you agree or disagree.

The flourishing of modern technology gives rise to the thought that conventional ways of reading will disappear as the popularity of electronic devices grows. While I agree that E-reading has its superiority in some regards compared to traditional newspapers and magazines, I hardly believe there would be a complete replacement within the foreseeable future. To start with, the advantages of E-reading are undeniable. Firstly, online resources can provide an instant update to the readers on current affairs compared to conventional papers, which requires extensive effort in printing and delivering to stores. Secondly, it allows readers to customize the interface on their devices, such as font style and font size, to maximise their comfort during reading. As a result, the popularity of reading online has been on the rise. For example, the Australian news platform Herald Sun grew its digital audience to over 2 million in 2019. However, not everyone is in favour of reading electronically compared to reading traditionally. For example, a survey conducted recently showed that 1 in 3 Australians still read a printed newspaper. Among these people, many suggested that reading physical newspapers has become a habit for them, and they do not feel the urge to make the switch to electronic reading. This indicates that even in today’s digitally-focused world, print newspapers continue to be an important advertising medium to reach both mass and niche audiences. In conclusion, although reading E-books can be more convenient and allows a personalised reading interface, it is hard to totally eliminate conventional reading as many people have a strong routine of reading newspapers and magazines.