Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Due to the expansion of the economy, the world has become a global village due to which that one can find their traditional foods where ever they live. It can be argued that consuming locally grown food is healthier and cheaper than imported ones. In this essay, I will substantiate that locally grown foods are the best option. On one hand, one can consume fresh foods when purchasing locally grown foods owing to the fact that a plethora of chemicals and layers are applied for processing food for export. For instance, apples are not grown in Asian countries Such as Sri Lanka. Manufacturing companies inject chemicals and apply spray coat to enhance their appearance and prolong the expiry date. Though it looks nice it contains consequently many of chemicals and can cause severe injuries when transmitted to the human body, on the contrary, locally grown fruits contain consequently much nutritious such as vitamins, minerals and carbohydrate. On the other hand, consumers can enjoy the best price for the money spent on local harvest due to the fact that, such imported foods cost doubled or more than that due to the cost of shipping, clearance, transportation and all other expenses are included in its price. To exemplify, peaches are not available to buy for the equal price of locally grown mango or banana. It is always fruitful to pay for locally grown vegetables and fruits due to the fact, one can enjoy better freshness for better value. All in,all we can say, I believe that people enjoy numerous goods from inland harvest instead of foreign goods due to which that it is rich in nutrition and, comes in garden freshness.