Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming increasingly common for parents to encourage their children to work part- time to fill their spare time. Although it appears to make children ignore their responsibility to study and have a lack of time to explore themselves, this essay believes the advantages overshadow the drawbacks, as it is an excellent way to introduce working culture and foster their skills. Most children are students, and school becomes their main responsibility. Education plays an important role in students ' lives; therefore, they need to pay adequate attention to their studies. Furthermore, children are at the prime age to learn and explore their talents. Hence, if they take a part- time job, their academic and personal lives may be disturbed. For instance, students usually use their free time to perform their homework or learn a new thing, yet instead of being involved in academic activities, they use it for work, which means they ignore their main role as students. On the other hand, a part- time job can have several advantages for children. To begin with, a part- time job allows them to have first-hand experience. In this case, they are familiar with the working environment, which can help them in the future since they have learned about professionalism. Additionally, some skills are being instilled in their personality. They learn to manage their time properly and take a more significant responsibility from a job. For instance, Chinese families often ask their children to assist in restaurants after school, teaching them how to handle a store. In conclusion, even though a part- time job could disturb children's school life, this allows them to understand the working world better and enhance their professional skills. Therefore, I firmly stated that the benefits eclipsed the drawbacks.