Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion

During the British era, many of the freedom fighters were given capital punishment, creating an environment of fear among nationalists. However, as the sun of their kingdom sets down, many people began to criticize the idea of capital punishment. This essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of this punishment and will be concluded with my personal opinion. To start with the advantages, capital punishment is often considered as one of the harsh punishment known in human society. The purpose of such punishment is to make people understand the gravity of the crime and thereby, giving them sweat, even while thinking of committing any such crime. For instance, capital punishment was given to the terrorist named Kasab, who attacked the financial capital of India. The apex court wants to set up an example before the world that India will not tolerate such attacks on its soil. Therefore, it should be kept in consideration for the crimes which are quite serious in nature. Like advantages, it does have many disadvantages, like for instance, taking away someone's life is against humanity. It is equivalent to murdering someone on purpose. Also, judicial justice works on the principle of evidence and without it, even an honest man can be convicted with such severe punishment. Sometimes, such punishments can be given on purpose under political pressure or capital gains to the corrupt. Many incidents of fixed trials happened with prisoners of war and deliberately, they were sentenced to death. Hence, it should be made unlawful under International Law. To conclude, we have discussed both sides of the coin and observed that such harsh punishments are needed to keep discipline in the society but there are high chances of their wrong implementation. Hence, it is important for the judiciary to understand its impact, and must be exercised only when it is absolutely necessary.