Some people think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that aged buildings are not useful anymore; hence, they are in favour of demolishing them to construct new ones instead. I mostly disagree with that point of view because I see more value-added to the community in keeping those buildings, than replacing them. Firstly, old constructions hold an important commercial value as they are enormously important attraction sell points for tourism. For instance, some tourist companies plan various length tours for architecture lovers around the old neighbourhoods in different cities. Furthermore, there is another type of popular tours that have interests especially in old celebrities’ lives, where fans visit the houses, they lived in. If the old buildings get demolished, cities will be deprived of a significant amount of tourism profits. On the other hand, although many people are into the ancient look of old architecture, it is irrefutable that keeping those old ones is not a safe option. Normally, a 50 years-old building was set up by low technique and unqualify materials so that they can slump down anytime. Consequently, this could cause huge damages to residents inside and in the areas. As a result, knocking those housings down is a wise decision to prevent unwanted accidents. For example, Regensburg is famous for its old town in Germany. However, recently, the government has decided to rebuild this area with new architectures which have the same appearances. In conclusion, even though keeping old constructions poses a safety risk for residents, it is crucial to preserve historical and nostalgic constructions as they tremendously benefit society.