Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this?

It is commonly believed that art plays a fundamental role in our society, as artists are able to express their thoughts and culture through art. Meanwhile, some people think that money spent on art by the government is wasted. In this essay, I will discuss this argument and explain why art has essential importance for society. While it is true that art enriches culture it plays little or no role in improving our lives. Firstly, supporting or preserving some forms of art requires the government to allocate sufficient resources; however, these funds could be spent on issues related to education, healthcare or poverty. Whilst contributions of technology and science play a vital role in addressing modern problems. For instance, while art cannot feed the population, technology can make it possible. Alternatively, art and culture co-exist, one cannot exist without the other. Therefore the importance of art cannot be denied. To start with, human beings are able to feel harmony and peace through exploring art. More specifically, art encourages spiritual values such as friendship, love, nature, freedom, etc. Additionally, art may also help to detect various issues of children at schools, facilitating healthy mental development. For instance, children are able to express themselves through art and creativity, which helps teachers to detect problems at their early age. To sum up, in our day and age the importance of art is underestimated. People should be both, mentally and physically healthy, thus the significance of arts is undeniable. In my opinion, governments should have a balance of funding spiritual and physical values.