Some cities have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many cities, we can see the limited power of citizens to contribute towards urban architecture. There is an assumption that the public should have more control over the planning of their houses and offices in their urban space. While I can see some benefits of citizens to contribute towards the visual of their houses and offices, I have a strong belief that more important are construction security reasons specific to every city. Recently, there is a discussion about availability to influence the look of houses and job places. Calling for the freedom to have a house and workplace based on contemporary or future householders needs is important and opens the door to creativity and new materials for builders and architect. This is helpful especially to reflect different people needs and fulfil business-specific requirements. Different family sizes, business, schools have diverse requirements. Where in the business and schools large windows, wide entry doors or large classrooms are necessary, the family house has a need for more rooms and smaller windows for isolation purposes. Another the benefit is the fulfilment of many aesthetic tastes and requirements society do have. For an instance, some families enjoy having a spacious room while others enjoy having smaller cosier houses. In my opinion, people still have a choice over the interior, and government restrictions don’t mean that there is no flexibility altogether. On the other hand, the building designed to the community’s tastes might not take into consideration safety aspects which are more important than the desire for a beautiful building. There are many places with a high density of population where is an intense occurrence of an earthquake, Tsunami or local fires. In areas such as Mexico, Japan or New Zealand where earthquakes occurred regularly, the safety rules created by experts play vital roles to a building a sustainable and safer place to live in. A great example, of a fruitful project where the needs of safety and population housing are,meet in Tokyo in Japan and Taipei in Taiwan. The new flexible steel is used in everyday new built building infrastructure. One more challenge of allowing the crowd to contribute to the city architecture is various taste and choice of different styles of people that might clash which can be seen on some building facade with strong vibrant colours that don’t match the one next to them. In conclusion, the importance of safety and technical practicality in cases such as earthquakes, Tsunami etc. outweigh the people’s desire to live in visually attractive houses or offices with large windows or colourful facades of the buildings.