It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People have different views about the open areas such as squares and parks play a vital role in towns and cities. This essay will shed some light on why I am on the same page with those who support to this statement. There are two reasons why it could be argued that public grounds should not be considered as the heart of the cities. The prominent reason is that the number of people migrate to cities increases remarkably due to overpopulation, so these metropolitans do not have available spaces to construct parks or squares. Hong Kong, where inhabitants even do not possess enough places for establishing accommodation, can be taken as an object lesson. Besides, the national authorities should expend the budget on other prospects such as healthcare, education and transportation systems instead of open spaces. Although the drawbacks of huge spaces are inevitable, their advantages are more significant. Firstly, public places are the ideal places for local citizens improving their well-being and lifting up their spirit. Particularly, residents tend to have stroll around these places to release stressful things after their hectic daily schedules, which can do wonder for them to recharge the battery. Secondly, the deterioration of air quality becomes an alarming trend in cities, so green regions such as parks are able to contribute to the environmental protection by diminishing the amount of greenhouse gases. Moreover, squares also preserve historical value that boosts the tourism industry through attracting visitors flock into this area annually. In conclusion, I personally support that public places brings more benefits for people and eco-systems that outweigh their demerits.