Some experts believe it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at the primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of biligual individuals is increasing. Due to the several advantages arising from this activity, people are having access to foreign language classes at an earlier age, in order to become fluent sooner. This essay will discuss this trend and, then, conclude if the upsides outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, undoubtedly, the benefits of knowing a second dialect are uncountless. For instance, looking at a personal aspect, speaking two languages is an acquaintance achievement, bringing personal satisfaction to the person and, thus, quality of life. Additionally, looking at a professional view, some research studies have shown that adults whose educational basis have been made in a bilingual institution were more likely to be hired in the future by renowned companies as speaking two or more idioms would help in acquiring foreign clients. Hence, becoming bilingual in childhood can be advantageous to a future perspective, in adulthood. Furthermore, despite some experts argue that studying sooner, in primary school, for example, would be an advantage over older kids, as toddlers' brain connections are still raw and, thereby, they would understand it effortlessly, I do not consider it as a positive or a negative point. As a matter of fact, the process of assimilating another idiom in infancy or in adolescence is benefitial and must encouraged at any age. In spite of the fact that, obviously, the sooner somebody is introduced to a second dialect, the sooner this one will get fluent, bearing in mind the goal of learning is more important. To summarize, speaking another dialect at primary school is more advantageous to become fluent earlier. Although, taking other point of views, such as a career purpose, learning in secondary school is not a downside, as long as the individual, indeed, learns it. Therefore, having access to a foreign language must be encouraged in any age, considering all the positive points to a brighter future.