Some people think it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that girls and boys benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss these two views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some people argue that boys and girls should study in separate schools, others claim that there are benefits of studying in the same school. In my opinion, I believe that they should attend mixed schools because of cognitive and social benefits. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, it is believed that co-sex education plays a vital role in the cognitive and social development of children. To begin with, in mixed schools, kids learn to get along with opposite-sex students which is imperative for their adult lives. As a result, they will not feel shy when they become adults. Moreover, it is evident that young ones are highly competitive in classrooms when they are educated together which in turn boosts their academic performances. For instance, in India students learning in mixed schools are achieving the best grades compared to those single-sex schools. On the other hand, many people argue that offspring should be educated separately based on their sex. That is mainly due to the fact of behavioural issues, which might reduce their concentration in studies and lower their academic scores. Furthermore, they have opportunities outside the school environment to socialise with other sex individuals which in turn helps avoid issues such as bullying or racism at the educational institutions. For example, in Canada, an average of 69% of behavioural issues are reported at schools just because the opposite sexes are learning together. In conclusion, although some proponents argue that boys and girls should study in separate educational settings, I believe that they should learn in the same school because of better academic performance and socialising skills.